Skip to main content

NIADA Foundation & Scholarship Opportunities

The National Independent Automobile Dealers Association Foundation was founded in 2006 by the National Independent Automobile Dealers Association, a 77-year-old trade association, to “improve the independent motor vehicle industry by informing and educating consumers of the general public and training individuals associated with our industry.”

Historically, the association’s scholarship program was the responsibility of the NIADA’s Auxiliary. Now, as an IRS approved 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the Foundation has assumed the oversight of the scholarship program’s functions. Four regional scholarships are awarded each year.

The regions and states are as indicated below.

REGION I: Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Indiana, Ohio, and Michigan.

REGION II: Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, and Alabama.

REGION III: North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas.

REGION IV: Washington, Oregon, California, Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Utah, Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico, Alaska, and Hawaii.

The Foundation invites you as an eligible student to complete this application in pursuit of scholarship funds to be paid to the college of your choice in Fall 2023. Applications must be POSTMARKED no later than March 12, 2023, AND received no later than March 26, 2023.

Apply Now

Eligibility Criteria:

You must:

  1. Be classified as a high school senior during the current 2022-2023 school year and legally reside in one of the 4 regions indicated above.
  2. Have maintained an outstanding academic achievement record as reflected by an official high school transcript;
  3. A desire to work in the automotive industry.

Application Process:

Submit the completed application form with the required attachments in a 10-inch X 13-inch envelope, with adequate postage to:

Scholarship Selection Committee


4621 S. Cooper Street

Suite 131-524

Arlington, Texas 76017

All information MUST be included with the original application. No additional information will be accepted at a later date or if sent separately.

Staff will review the applications for completeness and will forward them to the Scholarship Selection Committee within NIADA and at Northwood University in Midland, Michigan. They will be reviewed by region. One applicant will be selected from each of the four NIADA regions based on the merit of his/her scholarship application and will be notified by the Foundation office by mid-May 2023. The winners will be recognized at NIADA’s Annual Convention and Expo in July 2023.